Parent Resources

The Mountain BOCES is committed to partnering with families in the communities we serve!

Parent and Child Rights in Special Education

Derechos de los padres y sus hijos en la educació n especial

Parent Input into IEP


Local Child Find Coordinators

Buena Vista

Dione Garritson

DioneG@bvschools.org

Phone: (719) 966-9149


Park County

Robin Medina

robin.medina@parkcountyre2.org

Phone: (719) 836-4416


Salida

Lisa Monroe

lmonroe@salidaschools.org

Phone: 719-530-5375


Lake County

Kelly Horning

khorning@lakecountyschools.net

Phone: (719)-486-6920

Local Community Center Boards:

Chaffee County - Starpoint: https://www.starpointco.com/

Lake County - Mountain Valley Developmental Services: https://www.mtnvalley.org/

Park County - The Resource Exchange: https://www.tre.org/


BIPOC family listening sessions scheduled

The Exceptional Student Services Unit wants to hear from you! Join us for virtual listening sessions to help us gain a better understanding of the needs of our Black, Indigenous and people of color parents/families of students with exceptionalities. Sessions will be held September through November.

Click here to learn more and register for the BIPOC Family Listening Sessions.

Questions regarding listening sessions content can be directed to Michael Ramirez at ramirez_m@cde.state.co.us.


Additional Resources:

Agency List for Families of Students with Disabilities

Parents Encouraging Parents (PEP): https://www.cde.state.co.us/cdesped/pep

Peak Parent Center: https://www.peakparent.org/

CDE Parent Resources Website: https://www.cde.state.co.us/communications/resourcesforparents

Easter Seals Colorado: https://www.easterseals.com/co/


Student Record Requests:

For student record requests and translation of records, including IEPs, please contact Shawnna Stamps. Shawnna will need:

  • The name of the person requesting the records

  • Whether you want the records sent via fax or U.S. Postal Service

  • The fax number or name and address to send the records

Missing information will delay the process

Mountain BOCES Staff Contact

Shawnna Stamps
Special Education Records, Data and Reporting Manager
719-486-2603 phone
719-486-2109 fax
sstamps@mtnboces.org